The Character Building Garden

img_0831

The garden struggles with a wet season.

I have had two growing seasons here at the cabin.  The first was too hot and the second was too wet.  The reality is that the growing season is short and harsh up here in the prairies of Canada.  I always wondered why farmers always seemed to be complaining about something – too much sun or not enough sun – too much rain or not enough rain.  But now I appreciate that growing season here is just “too much” of something season.

img_0703

The mushrooms took over the straw raised beds.

Some of the my plants didn’t survive at all.  I planted my cucumbers  and beans after the May long weekend only to have them destroyed by frost the first night.  My squash plants never really embraced the moist raised beds, maybe because they were sharing real estate with the mushrooms.  I did, however, have success with my peas, tomatoes, and a few other random vegetables like carrots, and peppers.  I was feeling pretty proud of my small crop until I stopped at a local farmers market and saw what was being sold by local farmers.  Their vegetables dwarfed mine.  I realized that I still have a lot to learn about gardening.  In any event we picked, cleaned and ate what we could from the garden.  Enjoying each fresh vegetable.  Carrots, peas, peppers, beets, and tomatoes:

We also experimented with growing potatoes in straw.  My husband called them his “poo potatoes” after watching the Martian where Matt Damon’s character grew his potato crop on Mars in his own poo.  Happy that ours were not true poo potatoes we enjoyed eating this crop.

img_2140

The film inspired potato crop.

Another year of gardening.  Another year of lessons learned. Another year of persistence, patience and tenacity.  Character building.

Leave a comment

Filed under Cabin, Farm, Garden

Leave a Reply

